Monday, November 12, 2012


Rep. Jennifer M. Seelig
SALT LAKE CITY – Rep. Jennifer Seelig, (D-Salt Lake City), was elected the first woman Democratic Leader in the Utah House during that caucus’ leadership elections held earlier this evening. Seelig, entering her fourth term representing District 23 in Salt Lake City’s west quadrant, expressed appreciation for caucus members’ recognition of past leadership experience working on behalf of the legislature’s Democratic caucus. She has previously served as Whip (2010-12) and Caucus Manager for Utah House Democrats (2008-10). She succeeds retiring Democratic Leader David Litvack who will be leaving the Utah House of Representatives December 31, after 12 years of service.

 “We have a dynamic and dedicated team committed to fighting for the well-being of our constituents and for the state of Utah. One of the greatest advantages of an election cycle is the feedback all legislators get from their constituents, and our caucus' agenda will reflect that feedback. As always, we are anxious to get to work with our Republican colleagues and work out bipartisan legislation that reflects the needs of those we represent. ” Seelig said. Four-term Representative

Tim Cosgrove (D-Murray, District 44) was elected Democratic Whip. Representative Rebecca  (D-Salt Lake City, District 24) will serve as Assistant Democratic Whip and Representative Joel Briscoe (D-Salt Lake City, District 25) completes the leadership team as Caucus Manager. Chavez-Houck, the first Latina known to hold a Utah House leadership position, was first elected to office in 2008, Briscoe in 2010.

Learn more at the Utah State House Democratic Caucus website at |

No comments: