Thursday, September 08, 2011

State Rep. Patrice Arent to be honored for public service

Salt Lake City, UT – The Utah State Democratic Party is pleased to announce the 2011 Eleanor Roosevelt Award recipient will be State Rep. Patrice Arent.
Democratic State Party Chair Jim Dabakis praised the selection saying, “Representative Patrice Arent is a modern example of the courage and values we saw from First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt. Eleanor Roosevelt was a woman ahead of her time, a warm, loving, sincere, kind, wise, strong, disciplined, and very human person who used her talents and position to help bring about much needed social change for which she will never be forgotten and will always be treasured. We think the same can be said for Patrice.”
First elected in 1996, Patrice served for a decade in the Utah House and Senate.  After completing her term in 2006, Patrice moved out of her Senate district to the Millcreek community.  During her legislative tenure, the Deseret News repeatedly named Patrice as one of the five “Most Effective” members of the Senate and House. She was elected to the State House in her new district in Millcreek in 2010 and currently serves as a member of the Democratic National Committee where she has been nominated to serve on the powerful DNC Rules and Bylaws Committee.
As a legislator, Patrice worked hard to increase support for education, health and human services, and preservation of open space. She helped lead efforts to stop higher-level nuclear waste from being stored in Utah.  She also worked to amend or defeat legislation that wasted tax dollars.
Patrice works with her husband David Mock in a small family business and teaches part-time at the University of Utah's S.J. Quinney College of Law.  She is the proud mother of Sarah and Josh, fifth-generation Utahns. Patrice is a graduate of the University of Utah and Cornell Law School.  She was a division chief in the Utah Attorney General's Office, Associate General Counsel to the Utah Legislature, and practiced in a private law firm.
Patrice has been actively involved in community service for most of her life. She has volunteered on several boards including the University of Utah Hospital, Ronald McDonald House, AARP, and committees at Skyline and Olympus high schools.  Patrice volunteers at the homeless shelters and in the public schools, and is active in Rotary International. She has won many awards for her community and legislative service.
Patrice worked as a parking lot attendant, gift wrapper, buyer, and sales clerk for her family business, “Arent’s Doorway to Fashion.”  Working in her family's business taught Patrice the value of hard work, the importance of listening to your customers, and providing good, honest service. She has also worked as a waitress, substitute teacher, and law clerk in federal court. 
In their free time, Patrice and her family enjoy exploring Millcreek Canyon, music, skiing, theater, and hiking in Boulder, Utah.  Patrice's wonderful father, Marvin Arent, often joins them on vacations.
Patrice Arent was selected by a committee of past award winners from nominations submitted by members of the public and party activists. Special recognition will also be given to the Utah Democratic Women’s Club, the longest continuing Women’s Democratic Club in the nation at over 100 years of activity.
The award will be presented at the eighteenth annual Eleanor Roosevelt Award Luncheon to be held on October 27, 2011 at the Garden Place at This is the Place Heritage Park in Salt Lake City, Utah.
Past award winners include former Congresswoman Karen Shepherd; Utah First Ladies Lucy Beth Rampton and Norma Matheson; former Attorney General Jan Graham; Salt Lake County Clerk Sherrie Swensen, former State House members Judy Ann Buffmire and Beverly White; State Senator Karen Mayne and former State Senators Karen Hale and Paula Julander; Party activists Fae Beck, Rosa Vida Black, ShaRon Nelson, Louise Henson and Helen James; former Executive Director of the Utah Education Association Susan Kuziak; former Utah AFL-CIO political director Beverly Saathoff; well-known community activists Annette Cumming, Esther Landa, Robyn Matheson and Peggy Swenson.
For specific questions regarding arrangements for the Eleanor Roosevelt Award Luncheon, please contact Matt Lyon at 801-328-1212 x 207.

No comments: